top of page
Search
  • Alana Wilson

A Typical Grocery Haul Theses Days (Before the Chaos Hit!) + Recipes!

*Disclaimer: So I did this haul and had this written and pictures taken before the crazy and chaotic pandemic situation really got going. I/You probably would have some trouble finding these items right now if you braved the stores so maybe keep this in mind and hopefully in a few weeks if things die down you can go looking for some of these goodies.


Now that I got that out of the way, its sad I even had to write it because of whats going on right now, lets get to the fun part of this post!

So, First, I am very lucky to have the life we do and things available to us on a regular basis. I realize everyone's stories are different and I pray you all can get what you need especially for your babies and children. One big reason I feel lucky is that I am able to have free access to healthy and nourishing food for my family. Now, I say this because I am unable to work right now and we are considered a low income family right now while we figure things out post baby and post hubby's back surgery. We are blessed that the state gives us a small amount of EBT food stamps and I am able to receive WIC benefits as a new mom. This usually allows us about $1o0 in groceries a week for the 3 of us both benefits combined. It covers purees for Kelia as well which is great and typically WIC helps with formula. Grocery shopping when someone watches Kelia for me is a huge bonus! If hubby goes along with me its an epic failure LOL (Anyone else have this issue with their spouses when you shop together? *Team Shop Alone*)


My last grocery haul was on 03/09/20. I will now share some of the healthy and yummy things I got that day. FYI: This haul was all from Vons and I am avoiding other places right now. I usually tend to get groceries at Vons, Traders, Costco and 99c Store. I freeze meats and items that freeze well from each trip too for times like right now when groceries are limited in stores. I will eventually do some posts for hauls from Traders and Costco once its practical to go again.


The first things I got were three salad mixes. Hubby and I love salads and these bags are perfect size for the two of us and they have so many yummy flavors and toppings included! They are a great way to get some veggies and greens in too and easy to make and ready to serve in no time! I also like to buy fresh spinach and arugula sometimes with toppings like candied almonds/pecans/walnuts and dried fruits, diced carrots and celery, garbanzo beans, hearts of palm, artichoke hearts, cheeses and more. I also have buy a few of our favorite dressings or make homemade dressing too!


Other produce we frequently buy usually consists of a variation of the following and usually depends whats in season or whats on sale at the time:

Fruit: Berries, Bananas, Cuties Tangerines, Apples and Asian Pears, Melons mainly Watermelon, Grapes, Mango, Pineapple, Avocados, Lemons/Limes (for cooking) to name a few and Hubs got a fresh dragonfruit this week!

Vegetables: Brussel Sprouts, Asparagus, Broccoli, Cauliflower, Zucchini, Artichokes, Spinach, Squash, Tomatoes, Bell Peppers, Mushrooms, Carrots, Celery, and more.

Other: Onions, Shallots, Garlic, Ginger, Red or Yellow Potatoes, Sweet Potatoes/Yams


Next, I also love breakfast and even though Cory isn't huge on it sometimes we cook it together anyway in late morning and enjoy it. I always buy eggs (I actually get a dozen a month from WIC as well - not pictured) and we love turkey or pork breakfast sausages and bacon. We also sometimes make Greek Yogurt parfaits with any flavor Greek Yogurt (Chobani is our favorite brand), any flavor granola, berries and little honey!


In addition to a few breakfast items, you can see her some meats I got this trip. This trip I got Mesquite Roasted Turkey Breast Lunch Meat with Sliced Baby Swiss and Muenster Cheese for Sandwiches, and I got Stew Beef and I froze on and made Beef Stew with Orzo with the other in my Ninja Foodi. I also got a 3lb thing of ground turkey on sale so I made turkey noodle veggie soup with about a pound of it and froze the rest. I will use it for tacos, chili, or turkey burgers or loaf. We also love to splurge on steaks or a tri-tip sometimes and we love fish as well usually salmon, sole, cod, tilapia, halibut, tuna or yellowtail as well as crab and shrimp when we can afford it. We aren't really lobster fans in general so even on special occasions don't make it unless its on sale for my father in law.


Also pictured, hummus and pretzels for snacking and spinach dip from Trader Joes that we love with their tortilla chips that have lime and salt on them. We also love fresh salsa, guacamole, and bean dip and make them homemade at times.



I got some chips and popcorn and pictured here is also granola and some crackers I got.


Next, I got some healthier options of "rice" and some dried beans. Always good to have on hand and trying to broaden Cory's palet with beans as well.




I am also trying to stick with whole grains and healthier breads/carbs so I choose whole wheat or whole grain options when available although occasionally I have to try something I see as well. Here is the bread, english muffins, and tortillas I got this trip.



For drinks we are trying to drink a lot of purified water (bottled or tap filtered), Hint waters, different iced teas I usually brew at home, coffee (cuz parent life), apple or white grape 100% juices, sparkling juices such as cranberry ocean sprays ones or martinielli ciders, gatorades, capri suns, and smoothies homemade or Jamba! We are trying to cut back on sodas and energy drinks, but occasionally get a "Refresher" from Starbucks for a caffeine kick!


A Few Recipes I Love

I wanted to share a few healthy easy recipes wth you all....But, First, I wanted to pass along a not so healthy recipe I created myself when I was in my early teens! They are super yummy cookies! I hope you enjoy them as much as I do! (Which reminds me I need to make them again soon!)


“The Best Cookies Ever Created in 1999”

2 sticks of butter

1 ½ Cups Flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon cinnamon

½ cup firmly packed brown sugar

1 cup sugar

1 large egg

1 ½ cups rolled oats

½ cup butterscotch chips

½ cup white chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350*

Beat/Cream Butter and both sugars untul light and fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla.

Low speed mix in flour, baking soda, and cinnamon. Then fold in oats and both chips.

Place on cookie sheets in one inch balls about 2 inches apart. Flatten slightly.

Bake 10-12 Minutes until golden brown.

Cool until set before removing from baking sheets. Then cool completely.


And Now for healthy recipes!


Baked Salmon with Mustard Dill Sauce

¼ Cup Dijon Mustard

¼ Cup Olive Oil

2 T Dry White Wine

2 T Fresh Chopped Dill

1 T Fresh Ground Pepper

1 Clove Garlic Minced

2 Pounds Salmon Fillets

**Preheat Oven 350*

Combine the mustard, oil, white wine, dill, pepper and garlic in a bowl.

Put fish in single layer in center of baking dish. Brush with half the marinade you made. Bake 30mins at 350*

Remove from the oven and brush with remaining marinade just before serving.

Can be served hot or chilled.


Curry Chicken Salad

1 package (5.5 ounces) slivered almonds

2 cups Mayo

2 T Lemon Juice

2.5 T Soy Sauce

1 Heaping T Curry Powder

1 T Onion Juice

1 T Chutney

3 cups Chicken (Cold and cut into cubes)

1.5 Cups chopped celery

2 Cups sliced seedless grapes

1 (6oz) can of water chestnuts

1 (15 ¾ oz) Can of Pineapple chunks

**Mix together the Mayo, lemon juice, soy sauce, curry powder, onion juice, and chutney.

Assemble all other ingredients except the almonds.

Toss all well in mayo mixture and refrigerate overnight to blend all flavors.

Toss with almonds before serving.


Caprese Salad

1 Tub Fresh Burrata Mozzarella Balls in Water (Drained)

1/2 Container Baby/Grape Tomatoes (Sliced in Half)

A Bunch of Fresh Basil (Washed and sliced into small thin pieces)

Olive Oil

Balsamic Vinegar

Garlic Salt

Fresh Ground Pepper

**Mix the Cheese and Tomatoes in a bowl. Generously add olive oil and vinegar to coat the cheese and tomato mixture to your liking. Sprinkle your preferred amount of garlic salt, grind your preferred amount of paper on top, and add the basil then stir around gently not to mush up the cheese. Chill and serve within a few hours to maintain freshness!


I hope you enjoyed this post and got some helpful information. Have fun grocery shopping, cooking, and eating healthy!


With Love,

Alana

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page