top of page
Search
  • Alana Wilson

Diet and Exercising Postpartum - My Story and Beliefs

Updated: Feb 28, 2020

I don't know about you, but the moment after I gave birth I started thinking about "getting my body back". Pre pregnancy I weighed 107lbs. At Birth I was 155lbs (I was weighed the day before my water broke). This photo was taken 10 days before I gave birth at 36 weeks pregnant and my last belly picture because my water breaking at 37.5 weeks was NOT part of the plan! My C-Section was scheduled for 38 weeks!


October 5th, 2019 - Baby Was Born October 15, 2019


At first I was shocked when I looked in the mirror and I immediately looked like I had lost 50lbs (as I write this I have still only lost 27lbs and I know this because this morning I weighed 128lbs at my OBGYN appointment). I was excited initially to see the the drop in weight only to have to remind myself, I JUST gave birth and I have to give it time, take it easy, and embrace my new mom body until I can start exercising to get back to where I ideally want to be. I also had to take it extra easy as I had a c-section and couldn't lift anything, walk very far or for a long time, and many every day things took several weeks to be able to do again.


December 2018, I got Pregnant End of January 2019.

November 2019, 2 Weeks Post C-Section and Feeling Great!


















I admit I still haven't been to the gym. I have been busy adjusting to mom life for the past 13 weeks. I also still have pain on and off near my incision. I was released and approved to go back to the gym at 6 weeks postpartum, but so far I have enjoyed walks with my little family in the neighborhood, at the mall, by the beach, at the zoo and aquarium, and around the trails at the park. It feels good both throughout my body as a whole (meaning legs and abdomen mainly) as well as relaxing for my brain and a good easy cardio workout for my lungs and heart (I feel the blood pumping and my lungs working during uphills).


A few walk pictures with my little girly, hubby, and the pups:


I love our little neighborhood as until I feel totally up to going to the gym I will use it for exercise! The dogs especially love it because they get to go with us for walks too!


I plan to start adding light weights and abdominal exercises and leg ones too soon as time goes on.


The biggest factor is my body staying put where it is probably my diet. My issue lies in the fact that I eat more of a balanced diet so to speak; healthy choices with a little bit of cheating here and there. I decided I won't let myself go crazy and try to diet, but rather enjoy what I am eating and eat what I want, but with the mindset I will add healthy things once in-between the bad things. See below for some of my meals so far in 2020.


A few of my favorite healthy choices are Acai Bowls, Greek Yogurt and Berry Parfaits, and Fresh Fish (Halibut/Tilapia/Salmon usually) with fresh veggies and rice or sweet potatoes. Also love avocados and I had them a lot in my first trimester as well! And I can't pass up fresh sushi from our favorite spot in town!!!!


Some of my not so healthy favorites/guilt pleasures are anything Italian food especially pastas and pizza (though I'm gonna try cauliflower crust soon!), Mongolian BBQ, In-N-Out, Taco Bell, and ice cream.


I always TRY to look for healthier alternatives when I have craving or am shopping, but I don't beat myself up over it if I can't and enjoy some things to my satisfaction in moderation.


Some healthier snacks I keep on hand and enjoy are:

* String Cheese *Apples Sliced *Greek Yogurt Tubes *Protein Cookies or Bars *Beef Jerky *Nuts *Peanut Butter and Celery *Frozen Fruit for Smoothies or Protein Shakes *Eggs

*Rice/Nut/Seed Crackers *Fresh Natural Lunch Meats That Are Nitrate-Free *Oats


And some snacks I cheat with because I just can't live without them are:

*Toast with Butter and Jelly or Peanut Butter *Bagels with Cream Cheese *English Toffee *Sour Belts Candy *Chips and Salsa/Dip *Snack Mix (Pub Mix or CheezIt) *Popcorn *Ice Cream Sandwiches or Bars


I try to incorporate a little more dairy/high calcium foods into my diet lately as well as more protein and less fats and sugar, but I will be honest I am FAR from perfect at this!


Just remember to embrace yourself for who you are and make the choices you WANT, but also that will give your body what it needs to stay healthy and in the best possible shape for the future.


My biggest inspiration now is my daughter. I want to be healthy and live as long as I can to enjoy her, watch her grow, inspire her to go down the right paths in life and see her successes and accomplishments and her life blossom and flourish.


So in the end, I feel its best to little by little do things to improve your health, body, fitness, and of course diet. To me it has been beneficial having the realization that it is OK to gradually improve yourself and totally fine to occasionally indulge in those foods you love as long as you throw in some healthy things too!


And of course always always BELIEVE IN YOURSELF and LOVE YOURSELF! Only you can be who you want to be and do the things you want to do! It is your life, you decide what route to take!


-With Love,

Alana

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page