top of page
Search
  • Alana Wilson

Dog Parenting, Our Buster And A Love For Dachshunds

Updated: Feb 28, 2020

When my husband and I met we both knew right away we were each other's person and we would spend our lives together from that moment on. We also always knew our future family and future home would include pets especially dogs. We both grew up with dogs and know we could never be without one (or two). The big question was what kind of dog(s) we would get? I grew up with Golden Retrievers and he grew up with a Dachshund (who lived to be 20 years old! I also got to meet him shortly before he gained his angel wings).


(Ginger Louise - My Late Family Dog) (Tweeners - Cory's Late Family Dog)



The 5 Golden Rules of Dog Ownership (In My Opinion)

1. Remember a dog is a commitment and always make sure to make and keep them a priority too. Always keep their vaccinations and vet check-ups up to date and get medical care as the need arises, attend to any injury or illness they have. Be aware of what is in their reach and keep an eye on them to make sure they stay safe and healthy at all times. Stay on top top of grooming and hygiene needs such as teeth brushing, hair brushing, nail clipping and ear or eye cleaning if needed. Also, remember they are like people and need love, exercise, and interaction so be sure to always fit in time for this to keep them happy too.

2. Every now and then reward them and spoil them with a special treat: A Puppachino (whipped cream) from Starbucks or straight from the can at home, A Toy, Bone - a dog one meant for chewing or raw one from the butcher, or A Pupsicle (Ice cubes made in an ice cube tray or popsicle mold with any mix of kibble/treats/veggies/peanut butter/plain yogurt). 3. Remember dogs can be unpredictable so always keep them close to you and on a leash with a collar or harness to keep you, them, and everyone around safe. (Unless you are in a leash free zone and feel you can trust your dog and those around you, I recommend using one!)

4. Take them on walks or car rides when you can and the weather is appropriate. Nothing says I love you to your pup more than letting them join you for a walk or a ride or an outing of some kind! You can always take them to the local dog park if you feel it is clean enough and safe enough for you and your dog. Getting your fur-baby out of the house is good for them too because it makes them happy, can you imagine laying around and being in the same place all the time? They need a change of scenery once in awhile too!

5. Always pick up after your dog. At home it is important to clean up after your dog so that bugs don't come around and germs or diseases don't grow and spread from it. It is also your responsibility to clean up after your dog when they go potty in public whether its a walk or on an outing. Always bring a bag and dispose of your dog's waste. Remember, your dog is your responsibility.


Buster during a trip to the beach

The Story Of Our Buster

Three and a half years into dating something felt like it was missing so I went online and surprised Cory with an early Valentine's gift he couldn't turn down! We visited a local dachshund breeder with puppies only 4 weeks old! (We visited several more times before we were able to bring our boy home)....Yup, We went all in and welcomed a puppy into our lives making us a little family of 3! Buster was born on January 4th, 2015 and came home to be with us February 28th, 2015 at 8 weeks old! He was so tiny and we were and still are so in love with him! And even though I never imagined being anything but a Golden Retriever mama, I love him with my whole heart and wouldn't change it for anything! And I can't imagine life without our little Bubba in our family!

For those who don't have a dog or haven't had a puppy, it takes a bit of preparation and safety precautions to welcome one into your home. If you get a puppy verses an adult dog, there also is a phase of training especially housebreaking/potty training. When we were waiting to bring Buster home we got some puppy piddle pads to have inside and up in our room, a cozy bed for him, a metal playpen, his food and water dishes, puppy food and training treats, and lots of toys, chew bones, and balls to keep him busy!


We were lucky Buster followed my in-laws' dog's lead and caught on to using the doggie door and going potty outside pretty quickly with only a few minor accidents. However, one thing he still that began when we was a puppy is he loves to chew and shred! He mostly shreds paper or cardboard or if he finds a food wrapper he makes sure no food is still in it haha. He also has always been a toy destroyer because he is determined to get the squeakers from all of them and pulls all the fuzz off tennis balls LOL...


More About Buster

1. He is a long hair miniature dachshund and minis are usually between 10-15lbs. He is a spoiled little chunk and weighs about 17.5lbs. He is also abnormally low to the ground for a dachshund the vet told us which causes him to pick up stuff often in his fur or splinters in his chest and tummy.

2. He has had two surgeries - one was for embedded splinters in his chest and the other was his neuter. He has also been hospitalized twice for pancreatitis which is heartbreaking and we do everything to prevent them, but the vet said they can just happen at anytime since he has had one in the past. He is now prone to flare ups and his two were 3 years apart.

3. Due to his pancreatitis risk he must follow a low fat diet. His favorite snacks are edamame we remove from the pods, fresh cucumber slices, and fresh watermelon chunks. He also loves his plain chicken breast with rice and canned pumpkin when his tummy/pancreas is acting up. He does NOT like banana, blueberries, or raw carrots. He usually eats a low fat kibble made for dachshunds/small dogs with low fat digestive health canned food. Most nights he gets a plain steamed veggie with dinner or canned pumpkin and some nights he will get rice and chicken instead of canned food. He always eats two small meals a day.

4. He hates the water so much he refuses to go in his pool even in 100 degree weather and also is not a fan of the bay or ocean so far. Additionally, he screams during his baths and while being dried afterwards so we usually let the groomer handle them unless he is so dirty we absolutely HAVE to bathe him at home. Oddly enough he loves being brushed though, go figure. We shave him in the summer months and keep him nicely trimmed the rest of the year to avoid mats and tangled hair.

5. We use a harness with Buster because his breed is prone to back problems and this is better in the long run to prevent any stress on his back that could cause injury. My mother-in-law also sewed him his harness out of my husband's old hockey jersey from a team he was on when he was young.

6. He is spoiled and loved so much that he sleeps in our bed under the covers with us every night. We love snuggling with him and all his kisses he gives us both at night and in the morning so a crate was never going to work for us.

7. He and my in-laws 8 year old smooth coat standard doxie,Tigger, are best friends!



Buster snuggling his little shark


Guilty of Being a Crazy Dachshund Lady

Since becoming a mama to my little Buster I have become totally addicted to all things dachshund.


Due to my to love for my little guy and my doxie addiction, I tend to get carried away and excited when I find dachshund related or shaped goodies. I have always been a huge fan of TJ Maxx, Home Goods, and Marshalls which is even more dangerous as a dachshund lover because they carry so many things with dachshunds on them! I also have found things at Old Navy, Target, Sur La Table, and Amazon to add to my dachshund collection. I will post a few pictures below of some items I have accumulated over the past 5 years that have dachshunds on them. I also have a doxie cookie cutter, two doxie pjs sets, fuzzy doxie christmas socks, a doxie tank top, and a weenie sticker on my car. I even had a onesie made for Kelia that says my big brother is a weiner. I know I am a big dork, but I love my little guy and am a proud doxie mama who is now totally obsessed with them! (I blame my mother-in-law who is equally as obsessed with getting me to be this way too! I buy her doxie stuff at times too so I don't feel so bad about it!)


As you can see I have lots of different dish towels even for different holidays, a nice fuzzy blanket, a mug, and a silicone thing that can be used as an ice cube tray or a baking mold.


I know I am not done adding to my doxie collection even though the hubby thinks I am crazy enough already about it! I even have a private list of items on Amazon that have or are doxies because you never know when I need another!


Do you have a dog? or other pets? What kind and what are their names? What is your favorite thing about having a dog/pet? What about you least favorite thing?


Until next post....


- With Love,

Alana


Ps. My favorite thing about having Buster is his snuggles and kisses and especially having him run up to me when I come home like he couldn't be happier to see me. My least favorite is when he is sick or hurting because I feel so bad and want to make it better, but don't always know exactly whats wrong because he can't communicate.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page