top of page
Search
  • Alana Wilson

Faith and Religion and Our Family

Hello again. As a blogger, I try to do my best to address many important and interesting topics, but I also don't want to offend anyone or upset anyone in doing so. I have been going back and forth with this topic and after my poll on Instagram and Facebook I decided more people seemed interested so I am going to go for it! If you aren't interested in reading about religion I suggested you stop here, otherwise enjoy!





This post will be sharing a glimpse into our family's religious beliefs, how we share them with our 9 month old daughter and how we plan to address them with her when she is older.


A Little Backstory

I was brought up very active in the Christian church and have been growing my relationship with Jesus since I was really young. I attended youth church camps, went to Forrest Home sleep away church camp, participated in Bible studies and more. I even volunteered for Vacation Bible School in a couple churches and worked in a church nursery school. I have also had some struggles, health issues, and difficult experiences in my life that have made me really need to lean on God to get through them. Its through these things that God has shown me that when I am ready to give up that he will give me the strength and attitude to push through and succeed.


My husband was brought up Catholic, but they did not attend church very often or practice religion very much because of his extended family conflicts in beliefs. He has gone to church a couple times with me and shares the same beliefs in God/Jesus but he isn't active in praying or having time with God like I do. He choses to believe and have faith without actively showing it I guess you would say.


Our Beliefs

My Husband and I share the belief that God created Earth and everything that lives and is on Earth. We believe Jesus in the son of God and that they are a higher power who created us, brought us together, gave us all we need in life and are writing our future story as it unfolds. Our infertility diagnosis brought my husband and I not only close to each other but to God because we turned to him and put it in his hands whether we would have a child. Shortly after we began to both pray and stop trying so hard God sent us little Kelia.


I have always been active in church since a young age, but recently have decided to do my own practices with God and I do a prayer journal and devotional once a week as well as pray daily. Cory does his own thing and I honestly don't know how he does things but its his business anyway not mine. We don't really discuss much about religion within our relationship, just that we share similar beliefs.


How We Share And Will Address Beliefs With Kelia

As of right now only I really share with Kelia about God and his love for us. We read books that are biblical, say our prayers and she has 2 stuffed animals that say The Lords Prayer when you press them and in my horrible singing voice I sing to her some Christian songs. I also have shown her part of a Veggie Tales episode and I love being able to entertain her with a show thats not just educational but teaches biblical lessons too!





Kelia has her bible from her GG that I plan to read with her when she's a little older and I plan to continue saying prayers with her at night. As far as church and Sunday school go we will address that when the time comes, but I would love for her to have a place to go to worship and learn Gods word with other kids. (Also gotta see how things improve with Covid because a lot of things aren't available right now and who knows when things will be back to a normal way of life.) I plan to let her decide what she believes and how she wants to practices those beliefs, but I also will encourage her to keep praying with me and reading her bible with me.


Kelly's Bible Is Similar to This One!

How did you introduce your religion or beliefs with your kids? Or How will you?


With Love (and Blessings),

Alana

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page