top of page
Search
  • Alana Wilson

My Diaper Bag - What is in it and How is it Organized?

So just like most moms, I try to simplify my life and be prepared for anything that can occur when I have Kelia with me. I also want to make sure no matter where we are I have everything she may. Insert "My Diaper Bag". It's really nice to have one bag or purse or backpack just for the essentials for your baby or young child. *Also, see my new video on Youtube about this too!*


So lets start with what kinds of bags are available and most practical to use as a diaper bag.

There are two styles of bags made especially for use as a diaper bag. They have the Messenger (One arm style) and the Backpack style (for both shoulders). Google or search Amazon for either Messenger Diaper Bag or Backpack Diaper Bag to see many choices.


I have and use both styles, but I find a backpack style to be more comfortable and easier to carry. For the backpack style I am using a regular Jansport kids school backpack and it works great! (See my two below).


Now, Let me know you what I put in mine and how I organize it.


First, I bought a set of travel pouches or diaper bag organizer pouches. You can find them by searching Amazon or Etsy! You can also use old makeup bags or similar. I got the ones below and love that they are clear so I can see what is in them.


Then, the packing begins.


1. I pack a bottle of water, formula measured for what she usually eats (right now its 6oz), and a clean bottle. I use the lunchbox in my backpack bag to keep those in and I wash the bottle after each use if I plan to use it multiple times in one outing.


Next, As the name states we gotta have diapers! (And wipes, and I carry some green bags to put a really bad diaper in and tie it up to toss it to reduce any chance for more of a mess or stinky smells to linger. Also work good for soiled clothes to keep separated from any clean stuff.

I keep the diapers and green baggies in a big reusable bag to keep them together. I keep a pack of Kirkland wipes in the bag as well. You can never have too many wipes! (But you can run out so be prepared!)


I also have my own padded changing pad for any places in public or that I am concerned about sanitation. And same goes for my multi-use cover for high chairs, shopping carts or to cover the car seat. It is also a nursing cover and is great for those needing it for that, but I am no longer nursing so I use it other ways!




Next, I have a bag of random things she may need such as a sunhat, sunglasses, socks, pacifier, and a teething mitt.



Of Course, Always have burp cloths and a bib on hand too! And I keep a little pouch with a few favorite toys in my bag too! Just in case they are needed to quiet her down and entertain her!



And finally, I have a few things I find useful. Flushable wipes for anything you need to wipe and flush, baking soda cleansing wipes for dropped or dirtied pacifiers or other miscellaneous items, boogie wipes soft enough for sensitive skin on little noses and faces, a tube of A&D ointment, and a travel hand sanitizer.

What am I missing that you keep in your diaper bag?


I hope this was a informative. Anything else I should add?


With Love,

Alana

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page