top of page
Search
  • Alana Wilson

Our C-Section Story

***Warning Graphic Birth Pictures Below***


Happy C-Section Awareness Month! I am honored to be able to celebrate it with more purpose this year! In the past year I joined the C-Section Mama Club and couldn't be prouder! I told you all I would share my story so here it is!




I always knew I wanted to be a mom to my own children, but I also was always terrified to give birth in any of the ways people do everyday. I decided to let things happen and once I was pregnant and had an OBGYN I was comfortable with to discuss things we would decide a birth plan.


We found out we were pregnant February 18, 2019. I had blood work for several weeks and we had our first appointment with ultrasound to see the baby at my amazing I mean AMAZING OBGYN in April 2019. At this point, I was already terrified for what was to come and the possibility something could still go wrong (Thank you anxiety disorders) and I wasn't even due until 10/31!


About 12 weeks along we sat down with my OBGYN and both hubby and I explained my fears and that I was most comfortable having our little babe by C-Section. My OBGYN is well know in the baby birthing world around here and I was super comfortable with him and he had no problem with me delivering by c-section. Additionally, because if not, I would have to be induced early as we would later discover I had Cholestatis of Pregnancy when I was 15 weeks along. We scheduled my c-section for 10/18/2019 and confirmed that date at around 30 weeks.


At 36 weeks I was more than ready for little miss to join us Earth-side, but of course wanted her to cook as long as possible to be healthy and strong. At 37 weeks, on Monday, October 14th, I went to my last appointment, did Pre-Op and signed everything for delivery and Dr P said I will see you Friday! But, little did he or I know it would only be 24 hours not four more days until we met our daughter.


Tuesday, October 15th, I relaxed most the day which was my plan until she was born and I had some nasty braxton hicks contractions, but knew they were normal. I decided I wanted some fresh air so hubby and I took the dogs for a casual walk around the clock and at 3:30pm I went to pee and realized once my bladder was empty fluid continued to leak non-stop from me. I tried to go again to stop it and it hit me- it was my water breaking! I quietly called the OBGYN and told hubby who had just gotten home from a job site that I think my water broke and I want to get checked.


By 4pm it was confirmed my water broke and we were having a baby that day! We called my parents and grandma to share the news and my mom raced to be with us barely making it to scrub up before go time! My hubby with by my side and my mom took the most beautiful photos for us to cherish this very special occasion.


My Team - Hubs and Nana-to-be!

They informed me I wasn't dilated and had no contractions and that when they informed my OBGYN he said my c-section would be at 7:30pm because he wanted to go have dinner with his wife first. I laughed because thats my OBGYN he was hilarious! The nurse even said you have time to decide if you wanna labor on your own and deliver vaginally, but I declined totally comfortable in our decision.


I was wheeled in for my spinal and to be prepped at 7pm. The spinal wasn't bad and still was probably the hardest most painful part. I was talking to the anesthesiologist a mile a minute and I am sure he thought I was crazy but it was my nerves and nobody else was in there during this time. I kept asking for Cory and my Mom but I had to wait until it was just about time to get started! Dr Poliakin, My OBGYN came in and then my mom and Cory did.



GO Time Had Arrived!

One thing all of us were amazing and so grateful for was how they count literally EVERYTHING in the room what felt like 100 times, all the tools, towels, everything. Pretty amazing!


The started the surgery and I was awake the entire time and very emotional. At 8:21pm our daughter Kelia was born. She had a tiny cry and I cried. As most c-section babies do she needed her nose month and lungs cleaned from fluid and to get her color regulated a bit. I got to hold her and I looked at Cory who was also crying, kissed him, and said babe we did it and we have our baby girl. I had Cory go with her to the nursery for her full work up and she was totally healthy. She was 6lbs 10oz and 19.5 inches.



I will be honest I was terrified for recovery and it exceeded my expectations in a positive way. I was up and walking the next morning, had minimal postpartum bleeding, and pan was totally mild and manageable (and I am a huge wimp). I proudly wear my scar on my tummy and wouldn't have imagined any other birth than we had. I also can't wait to do it again when we add to our family one day.


Today we are so in love with our 6.5 month old little angel princess and her birth has has no negative effects on either of us and she is surpassing all milestones with ease and doing great!


I often joke that my cholestasis and postpartum itching has been worse than delivery was!


We are grateful we chose to have a c-section and the entire team who assisted was phenomenal! It was just the right thing for us. I will never regret it. Yes, it is a major abdominal surgery, requires a longer hospital stay, and a longer total recovery, but it was perfect for us!


I encourage you all to really think about and come up with your own birth plan that would make you most comfortable. Understand, However, circumstances can arise and it can change at any moment for the health of mom or baby, but have an idea in mind what you prefer to go off. It helped me and our family a ton to have ideas in place even though my waker broke beforehand.


Heres to happy healthy babies and births!


With Love,

Alana

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page