top of page
Search
  • Alana Wilson

Planning a First Birthday in a Pandemic!



As a new mom who waited so long and endured so much to become a mom, I have been waiting for the day I get to plan my baby girl's first birthday! Unfortunately, due to the Covid-19 pandemic it will be totally different than I envisioned, but I hope it is still amazing! I know she won't remember it anyway and a bigger party when she is older will be even better! It is a bit of a bummer having to adjust what I was hoping for, but I just want to celebrate my little love bug even if its a tiny party. And it just means I get to go big later in her life! (My Pinterest is now full of kid birthday ideas for the future!)


The Party

Details

We decided to keep with social distancing guidelines and prevent any of our loved ones getting sick, we will be doing two small parties just with close and immediate family members. We will be doing my side at a private little beach in Orange County on the bay. I am planning to get a bunch of In-n-out burgers and sides and of course cake for smashing and eating!!! For his side we may do a small thing at a beach in Malibu or a local park depending how the pandemic restrictions are in October. (Currently Beaches are open and parks are closed.) This is all weather permitting but according to researching predicted weather in October it should be nice still. Here in California our summer weather sticks around usually through October.


Theme

For the theme of the party we went back and forth and ultimately decided to do "Baby Shark" because Kelia is OBSESSED with it and with everything going on we decided other themes will be better in the years to come where more can come celebrate and she understands more to enjoy it! I did email invitations (pic above) for my side of the family's party and created a word document for hubs side to finalize later.


Who is invited?

This year, as mentioned above, we are strictly planning to celebrate with family.

So one party we invited my parents and their spouses, my siblings and their families, my uncle and his family, and my grandma. The other party is hubby's parents, his brothers, his aunts, and his cousins and their families. We already assume some people won't come due to Covid, but we extended invites to family anyway.


So even if its a smaller more intimate party, I am so excited for her first cake smash and first gift opening experience! It is so crazy that in like 6 weeks I will have a 1 year old!!!!


I will write and share about how the parties go afterward too! Are you planning a pandemic birthday? What are you going to do?


With Love,

Alana

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page