top of page
Search
  • Alana Wilson

There is No Greater Love Than That of a Grandparent!

Now that I am a parent and have witnessed firsthand the joy and bond my parents and in-laws share with my daughter, I believe that one of the greatest joys a parent experiences is seeing their children, who were once their little babies, become parents and raise their own babies. For many, like our parents, becoming grandparents was a proud, emotional, rewarding, and happy moment they had waited for since they became parents themselves. I assume it was reminder that they did such an amazing job raising us and everything they went through was all worth it for this!


In this post I will introduce you to Kelia's grandparents, tell you how we told them she was on the way, and how they are embracing her being in our lives!

The Greats!

First, let me tell you about two GREAT women that were the first step in making our family possible and are alive today to share in the happiness as their families continue to grow! Kelia is very lucky that her two GREAT Grandmothers on my side are both still alive and she sees one of them frequently and next month will finally meet the other!


My grandmas, Kelia's great grandmas are GG-Noni and Great Gram. GG lives less than 100 miles from us in California so we get to visit frequently. Great Gram, on the other hand is a Hawaiian girl so we haven't visited yet since Kelia arrived, but if all goes as planned, with this Corona Virus stuff not affecting our plans, we will be visiting her next month and introducing her to Kelia for the first time!


I have shared and made so many great memories with these two cuties and am so glad they both will have met my daughter! They also have both passed on some of my favorite and best recipes I continue to make again and again!


GG-Noni

GG is a spunky and happy 93 years young and the proudest of proud great grandmas! She raised two boys (one being my dad) and was married to my grandpa for almost 70 years when he passed away in 2017. She has three granddaughters and now two "grandsons" and two great granddaughters! She has a furry bed friend named Kelly-Joy and loves her Hallmark movies, scrolling on Facebook and playing games from her iPad, shopping, and Sees Candy! She also loves to FaceTime with Kelia and I as much as we can! We love our GG-Noni!

Great Gram Gram

Great Gram Gram is 91 years young and still living Aloha in Waikiki! She has 2 sons and 2 daughters (one being my mom), 5 grandchildren including one in Heaven, 3 bonus grandsons and now 3 great grandchildren! She loves to be in the garden tending to her plants and playing cards or backgammon! She also loves Sees Candy!




The Grand Ole' Parents

Kelia is really blessed because she is loved and spoiled by not four, but six grandparents! My parents divorced when I was younger, and both remarried so Kelia got bonus grandparents (my step-mom and step-dad)! She is one lucky girl to have so much love around her!


Popsie and Kiki

Popsie is the nickname my dad chose to be called by his grandkids because it was what my sister and I called his dad growing up until he passed away. Kiki is my stepmom's nickname because she has been called that for a few years by her nieces and it fits her perfectly! Kelia is their first grandchild, but they welcomed a second one three months later when my sister and her husband welcomed a baby girl as well. Popsie and Kiki have four children between the two of them, 2 son-in-laws, and of course the two granddaughters, but I think the family will grow again sooner than later! They also share a rambunctious golden retriever puppy named Banx or Banxton who loves Kelia so much that he never leaves her side when we visit! We love Popsie and Kiki so much and one of Kelia's favorite hangout spots is their yacht club!


Nana and Pops

Nana and Pops are my mom and stepdad's nicknames to their grandkids. They actually welcomed three granddaughters within 6 months this past year! They also have four children between the two of them and their four spouses as well as two grandsons and three granddaughters! We love Nana and Pops and they never cease to keep Kelia smiling and laughing! And, If you think their home gets full at times, you should see their hearts too!


Grammy and Grandpa

These are the names my in-laws, Cory's parents, are called well will be called when Kelia can talk. They have three sons, me their only "daughter", and now Kelia, their only granddaughter. They are so sweet and cute with Kelia its adorable. She is very spoiled by them already and obviously so loved. Grandpa talks to Kelia about his wildlife "pets" and about bicycle stuff everyday and grammy walks with us and the dogs time to time as well as loves to file her nails for us, helps feed her, and of course holds and snuggles her! They also have a dachshund named Tigger and a Chihuahua named Rickie and our little Buster is also always by grammy's side too!




Telling Our Parents They Were Gonna Be Grandparents


So immediately when I got the positive test I wanted to spill the beans, but hubby on the other hand did not want anyone to know even his parents whom we lived with until after our first ultrasound which my OBGYN wouldn't schedule until 6 and half weeks! Unknown to him I had told his mom before anyone even him because I was nervous and excited especially with him being admitted to the hospital the following morning for gallbladder removal and knowing I would be sitting in a waiting room for awhile with his parents etc....My family I wanted to tell in person and we decided after a couple ultrasounds with confirmed heartbeat we would. We actually visited them all in Newport a month before we told them and it was so hard to keep a secret, but I did!




Popsie and Kiki : So Kiki is a flight attendant for a major airline and we tried to coordinate to come down a weekend she was in town, but a couple days before we were going to be coming she got called into work a 4 day trip international so we had to be creative. I called her from my car and she was in a room alone and I told her and said but SHHHH don't tell dad! I think she started shopping for baby while on that trip! For my dad, I got a onesie with sailboats and seagulls on it and wrapped it up to give hi to open. He didn't catch it right away so I said surprise I am pregnant! We celebrated all weekend!


(We also had a onesie made to tell GG Noni as pictured above and did so they same time we told my dad!)


Nana and Pops: We planned a family dinner with them and my pregnant sister in law and my sister and her husband (who had no clue yet but they were pregnant too!) I had a custom onesie made to tell them as well and had a pacifier in the box too. My mom freaked out in excitement once she realized what the gift meant when she opened it! We gave my sister a custom onesie too! We had apple cider to celebrate!


Grammy and Grandpa: So obviously Grammy knew right away, but Grandpa we told when we returned home from telling my family. We had bought him some new bicycling shoes and wrapped them up in a box with a framed ultrasound picture as well. He didn't do much when he opened it and asked whats this, but now is totally in love with her and totally a doting grandpa!


Grandparents: The Kings and Queens of Spoiling Little Ones!


Let me tell you, our little girl has changed each of her grandparents and great grandparents for the better! The toughies are now softies and all of them are so involved and in love with our little princess! From toys to clothes, to gear and feeding stuff our girly is spoiled to the gills and definitely read to take on the big world! They also all want to babysit time to time which is wonderful for mommy and daddy and offer to take her to let us nap or have time to ourselves! I love having close knit families who know the as a village we can all help raise our growing little person!


See our child with our parents is truly amazing and makes us realize how lucky we are to have them! It also is a good look into how they raised us and how we turned out so gosh darn awesome! (LoL)...Its heartwarming overtime any of them hold her. She is loved so much and loves them all so much too!


Do me a favor and hug your grandparents and make sure your kiddos hug theirs too! Tell them how much you love and are grateful for them and even show it if you can with a gift of their favorite snacks or coffee or some flowers!


With Love,

Alana

76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page